• Author
      Profile photo of Andrew Normand

Some users have commented on the download times for SPT on Box.net. For my home and office connections, the download times seem comparable with other organisations’ servers, i.e. about half an hour for the Electricity and Energy 400MB file at the office, or about two hours at home.

Do you experience much faster downloads from other organisations? (Personally, I don’t, and Box.net is a large filesharing company.)

Should we take advantage of software such as BitTorrent (which has wholly legitimate uses, beyond its widespread use in illegal file sharing)?

Any other thoughts on download speeds?

1281954833cambridge 2009 update – presentations & handouts.zip

1281954905southampton 2010 update – presentations & handouts.zip

1281954997sheffield update 2010 – presentations & handouts.zip

I quite like the general concept of peer to peer file sharing things like BitTorrent. It’s very Clay Shirky, isn’t it? I have little knowledge of how it would work with the 2000-odd current holders of SPT materials, though. Would enough people have their computers turned on and allow access to the zip files to make it advantageous?

I suppose there’s bound to always be the original ‘seed’ open, possibly still hosted by something like box.net if they allow that sort of thing, and then anything else is just a bonus, really.

Jon, I am seeing 3-4 hours to download Electricity and Energy on my connection at home, and that isn’t right at all for a good file sharing service.  I should be able to download that file in less than 30 minutes usually. It does look like box.net is very slow and it is a Saturday afternoon (whether that is good or bad I don’t know).  I use a different file sharing service and have no problems.  David.

As posted in ‘resource’ area, my download was about 30-40 kbps, so about 3-4 hrs in total. This is considerably slower than most other files I’ve downloaded in the past.