Talking Physics

Student teacher blog

Tagged: , ,

This topic contains 2 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Caroline Davis 2 years ago.

• Author
    Profile photo of Andrew Normand

As a new cohort of student teachers being their Initial Teacher Education, we are delighted that some of them have agreed to chart their year by blogging on TalkPhysics. Here is the first entry:

It’s a rainy Sunday at the start of September and I’m writing this with a mixture of excitement and nerves as tomorrow I will be going back to school! Except this time around, I won’t just be the student, I’ll be learning to be a physics teacher.

I completed a degree in Mechanical Engineering and have been working as an engineer in the defence industry ever since. Upon entering this industry my first and overwhelming impression was, “Wow, there really aren’t many women here.”’ I soon set about trying to change that, becoming a STEM ambassador and working with local schools. It was through this work and setting up an apprenticeship scheme that I discovered how much I loved working with young people, showing them the exciting places that science could lead them and inspiring them to consider new career options. I soon found that these activities were becoming the highlight of my week and so it was that in January this year I decided to finally take the plunge, apply to do this full time and become a physics teacher.